Television has two roles: to inform and to entertain. Explain which of these roles you see as more important. To what extent do you think that TV today performs each of these roles in an effective way? Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Of late, there has been a colossal upsurge among the prodigies discussing the importance of TV as source of entertainment and information. Some people think that TV's are primarily means of entertainment, while others maintain that TV's provide their viewers entertainment as well as keep them updated on latest happenings. This essay will discuss the multi roles of TV in today's world.

At the outset, there are myriad of arguments associated with the role of TV. Firstly the most conspicuous is that programmes casted on TV's amuse people of all age groups. Therefore, TV's not only cast cartoons, movies and dramas for children as well as adults but also they show informative programmes on various channels. For instance, programmes like wildlife, inside Africa and Under the sea casted on "discovery channel" act as a great source of information and learning for the viewers. As a result, it is quite evident that TV's perform both entertainment and informative roles.

On the other hand, another pivotal facet of this argument is the evolution of various news channels on TV. Over time, media has flourished at a very fast pace which has resulted in development of numerous news channel. As an example, in the urge to compete other channels, news channels cast and post updated news providing their viewers latest information on the current scenario and situation in the country. As a matter of fact of fact, role of TV's have now become more informative than to provide entertainment to its viewers.

To recapitulate, foregoing discussion propounds that owing to the casting of various dramas, cartoon, movies, informative programmes and news TV's have now both entertainment as well as informative role.