These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

These days, with the extensive use of the Internet people are no longer tied to the place of work or study, so they can freely change cities, countries or even continents. While moving abroad is widely considered as a life-transforming opportunity, people should nonetheless take into account the number of challenges they may face. This essay will explore pros and cons of living overseas and show why it is beneficial.

To begin with, no matter what your reason is, there are numerous advantages of relocating abroad for some period of time. Generally, better quality of life is one of the major benefits for those, who made this life-changing decision. For example, hundreds of Ukrainians migrate to Australia every year because of warmer climate and attractive work-life balance. Moreover, working or studying overseas can give us a priceless opportunity to make valuable professional and friendly connections all over the world, resulting in greater career prospects anywhere. Not to mention, that meeting new people with different cultural backgrounds expends our horizons and broadens perception of life.

However, moving to foreign country almost always means stepping out of your comfort zone, which in conjunction with language barrier may lead to giving up and soon return home. For instance, this is especially true if you are leaving a small, quiet city to find yourself in a hectic metropolis like Sydney, New York or Milan. In addition, starting a brand new life from scratch could be sufficiently challenging even for the most outgoing people.

In conclusion, despite the fact that living abroad can be a quantum leap towards bright future for many, its negative affects should not be neglected. Nevertheless, the advantages such as better quality of life and unique opportunities far outweigh disadvantages.