traffic congestion is increasing in major cities. what do you think is the reason for this?

Surely, there has been no time in the history where the lives of people have changed more dramatically. A quick reflection on a typical day reveals that traffic congestion has always been one of the prominent topics in contemporary discussions. people have always been intrigued to analyse and explain the reason for increasing traffic jams. I believe this is happening mainly due to the high number of personal vehicles and narrow roads.

Firstly, more people are buying personal vehicles these days. this is because modern technology has led to the mass production of cars. due to this, their price has declined and people can easily buy them even with a limited income.

Secondly, many of the major cities in the world have narrow roads. The reason for this is these cities were established at a time when there were no modern means of transportation. As a result, they are not able to deal with the current load of traffic. To put this into perspective, London was established when there were no vehicles. these days, the city suffers from a chronic congestion problem since its roads were not built for this level of traffic.

Hence based on the arguments above, I want to stress that the traffic congestion around the world is primarily rising because of the improved affordability of personal vehicles as well as the poor design of the roads.