In underdeveloped countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well.

These days, there is a heated debate among people about the importance of tourism in underdeveloped countries. There are a great number of individuals who interpret the impacts of tourism as thoroughly constructive, while others hold an opponent’s view. I am inclined to believe that mass tourism is beneficial for the growth of a country’s economy and development of relationships among countries.

There is no skepticism surrounding the fact that tourism plays a pivotal role in economic growth and infrastructure. To be more precise, tourism industry is considered as a significant source of revenue by providing different job opportunities and increasing foreign exchange earnings. Moreover, this industry would imply an increasing need various services such as water sanitation, road connectivity and well-equipped hospitals. Therefore, this inevitably forces the government to accelerate the development of infrastructure.

In other words, tourism promotes international understanding and cooperation among nations. This is to say that tourism industry would open borders among countries a tremendous number of people with diverse cultures from various geographical locations are able to interact with each other, which consequently promotes the peace across the world. To be more specific, a survey conducted by Yale University in 2015 has found that western citizen could enhance the basic intellectual abilities of young generation in developing countries.

In a nutshell, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that tourism would economically and socially benefit the developing countries. Hence, I strongly believe that the merits of tourism far outweigh its drawbacks. It is recommended that local authorities take cognizance of these facts and enhance their infrastructure in order to attract more visitors.