In underdeveloped countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The tourism industry is crucial for many underdeveloped countries. It helps them to progress and step towards development. Many argue that tourism industry has many disadvantages, on the other hand, some believe that there are more advantages. Both sides will be critiqued before the reasoned conclusion is found.

To begin with, it is said that many underdeveloped countries are high risk for tourists. This is apparent since last few decades. For example, last week in Bangladesh a tourist from Japan and another from Italy were shot dead by the ‘Islamic State terrorist group. This shows that underdeveloped nations are not safe as they lack solid security measures. Thus, in such type of countries tourism industry has disadvantages at it tarnishes countries reputation.

Conversely, in many developing countries tourism is an advantage as they bring much of foreign currency and fosters local businesses. For instance, Nepal, the Himalayan nation’s much of the income comes from tourism. It boosts local hospitality industry significantly. When looking at this example it is clear that this industry has clear advantages.

After diligently analyzing both views it is believed that the positive side weighs heavier than the negative one. In a nutshell, it is predicted that in years to come tourism will reach its heights by contributing much to the countries economy.