In underdeveloped countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. Discuss your opinions and give examples.

The advantages and disadvantages of tourism in underdeveloped countries. Although this topic, in all likelihood, will never yield a consensual agreement, a constructive dialogue on it can lead to thought-provoking discussions. In my view, developing countries have certain advantages through which they can improve their tourism drastically.

The biggest strength of developing countries is the vast scope to improve and succeed. The underdeveloped countries often have immense untapped potential. For example, India uses its historical monuments and cultural values to improve its tourism in places like Agra, Udaipur, Gandhinagar, Chennai, Hyderabad etcetera. Also, American countries like Mexico and Brazil use their ethnic cuisines to attract tourists from all over the world. People from well-to-do countries like to travel to these places and experience the unique adventure such countries offer.

From a social standpoint, most of the developing countries have traditions which are still dated to ancient history. The citizens of first world countries find it educative to understand these traditions. Moreover, the Asian and African tribes have the knowledge which is even better than the modern science. For example, the knowledge of homeopathic and herbal medicine in Himalayas has attracted millions of tourists so far.

In conclusion, taking all points into consideration, I am inclined to believe that men and women around the world want to explore more than just skyscrapers and technology, and they are hungry for the adventure which is closer to the nature. The developing countries are in better position to provide such experience and hence, they have advantage in enhancing their tourism industry.