Parents play imp role in educating children as teachers. Agree/disagree?

Whether parents play as important role as teachers in educating children, has been a widely debated topic. I agree that the parents play a crucial role in teaching their kids, as crucial as teachers at least, if not more important.

From a very small age, a child impersonates his parents. Therefore, the behaviour of a child is usually found to be as good as, or as bad as, that of his parents. Many studies have found that a child develops his or her liking to certain hobby at a very early age, earlier than even going to school. This tells that the environment provided to a child at home is even more critical than the one provided at school. As is said, a healthy mind resides in healthy body, similarly it can be said that a healthy child resides in healthy home.

The top international universities conducted a recent study and it was discovered that even if one of a parent is a regular smoker and habitual drinker, it is very likely that the children would also develop that habit. In the same study it was added that if a parent is a follower of a game, children automatically follow that game. In our everyday life we observe that the children have the same eating habits as their parents. We also see that children learn the social habits and etiquettes from their parents, more than their teachers.

By looking at the overall picture, it can be easily concluded that the development of a child begins at home, much earlier than the child starts going to school. While the conditioning at school is vital, it is of paramount importance at home, with parents and family.