What is your opinion on deducting marks on student's work if it is late?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is a colossal upsurge in debating about deducting students' mark on submitting their work late. There is a widespread concern that it demotivates students' instead of encouraging them to do their work on time. This is not the right way to gauge students' capability but in my opinion, this apprehension is warranted and merits serious considerations.

There are many arguments in favour of my stance but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that it gets' late to submit work for various reasons. In fact, not only do students must get an opportunity for an extension of time for the valid reason but also a chance to appeal for review of the decision. We can find overwhelming evidence in support of the fact that sometimes students cannot submit work because of health reason, an act of god, and so on. Needless to say, all these demerits stand for students career far-reaching, as far as the late submission is considered.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that marks deducted on late work submission do not provide energy to students to move forward in their life. Besides, they may quit their study. For example, there are a number of researches by various governmental bodies that show that in Nepal the majority of the students drop their school because of marks deducted by teachers for late work submission without any chance of justification or appeal. Hence, it is apparent why many are against the marks deduction system.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the demerits of reducing marks of students as punishment of late work submission are indeed too dire to ignore.