Whether formal writing examination is a good way to assess students learning?

In this modern world, examinations are becoming more controversial topic and different people are presenting different view about them. Some people believe that formal writing examination is a method to assess a student knowledge while others those have a different opinion. This contentious topic has been profoundly debated on several forums. I feel written exams are not efficient method to judge a student knowledge. I will reason my stance before implicating a rational conclusion.

Throwing weight behind my view, a formal written examination is an unfair method to assess learning as everyone is not same. Every student learns with his own pace which varies from student to student; Furthermore, not everyone is able to handle pressure of examination in a limited time period. Moreover, a written examination evaluates memory not knowledge of student about any subject. For instance, anyone who is master to memorize a subject will do better in the exam without understanding it completely.

Paradoxically, some people consider written examination is the best method to gauge the understanding of student about particular subject. They believe it is a platform which helps teacher to examine capabilities of a student because all students are given same task, and they answer based on their understandings of subject.

To summaries, although written examination is a good way to assess students learning, still it has many flaws.