Written examination to assess students is a good idea or bad? Express your opinion providing examples and your own experiences

In this day and age, the issue of assessment of students by written examinations has come into sharp focus amongst people around the globe. In this regard, a substantial number of people put forward to this idea that written examinations could be a great basis for pupil’s assessment. Personally, I am inclined to highly believe that practical examinations as well as written ones have some potential benefits on students, which should be taken into account. The bases for my views are research findings and experimental outcomes, which will be discussed in this essay before a reasonable conclusion is made.

At the outset, I believe that written examinations play a crucial factor in relieving of stress among students, as well as assisting them in better time management. For instance, based on a recent research conducted in University of Adelaide in 2016, more than 70% of pupils claimed that examinations designed in written form have been more popular among them because of being less stressful and helping them in proper time management. Hence, the potential benefits of written examinations play a key role in reduction of stress and better management of time for students.

Moreover, in my point of view, practical exams could be a great measurement in realizing full potential of students. As an example, based on my own experience, a recent undertaken experiment on pupils within a school in England in 2016, indicated that students who are examined through practical examinations, are more able to get their desired jobs as compared to other students. Therefore, practical tests may assist students to acquire considerable skills needed for their future career.

In conclusion, after analyzing the major impacts of written examinations on students such as relieving stress level and acquiring skills in time management, as well as pointing to the benefit of practical exams, my personal sentiment is that schools should assess the students both in practical and written ones.