Does having courage means that we have no fear, or that we act despite being afraid? Plan and write an essay in which you develop your point of view on these issues. Support your position with reasoning and examples taken from your reading, studies, experience, or observations.

The True Bravery

Personally, I don't believe that having a courage requires having a certain fear. By becoming brave, someone would be able to defy and resist every negativity. Having courage definitely means we have no fear. Yet if we stand still against a certain thing but still get scared by another, we cant say that we have complete courage. In this type of situation, we would only be able to call ourselves ‘trying to defeat fear’.

I have a few reasons to believe in these. First of all, I believe that courage is something that can't be achieved by everyone. Some may have little courage but still have something to fear from. But by having full courage is the definition to that we can successfully stand against our former fears.

For an example, a man had feared about spiders in his youth. If he tried to eliminate this fear, at first he would gain some little courage. This little bravery would let him pass among spiders, but he still would have, as a reflex, some little fear when spotting a spider. But if he develops a full courage, he would only laugh if a spider gets near of him. Also for another example, a girl may have a fear of heights. By gaining a little courage, she may eliminate this fear, but she wouldn't eliminate some other possible fears of her own. So, this proves the fact that having a complete courage is a hard thing possessable by only a few who can have. Of course, it is possible for someone to try to have courage by fearing and confronting their fears. However, it should be noted that those people who act despite being afraid, wouldn't be called brave as they aren't acting brave but only trying to be brave and possess courage against their fears. This statement is usually applied for most of the people as becoming complete brave, which is gives us complete courage against every kind of obstacles, is a rare trait that could only be achieved by hard working.

As a result of this, we can clearly state that by becoming courageous ,it would definitely change our entire life as it would affect our personality and traits. Courage, is an important trait to be won, and also one of the hardest. Most of the people, may think about them as courageus, yet their corage level would never be near as the ‘’ful bravery’’ level, if they feared things that they resist.