13. In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway p

By attempting speed limit method, accident rates were not decreased in Prunty county as author suggests that to follow strategy like Butler county. They mainly improved their road facilities as a result without limiting speed, accident rate were fewer than previous year. This argument seems plausible with valid reasons but a careful scrutiny reveals its logical flaws and ill-terminology.

First of all, author suggests following Butler county strategy which implemented five years ago and made success to reduce accident. At this point, it is not clear about Butler present condition. Is this success running successfully? 25% decreases of accident never showed the clear scenario. It may happen that number of total accidents in Butler is higher much more than Prunty within one year. After decreasing 25% of accident rate, it may still higher than Prunty rate. Therefore, this must be thought before follow them. Similarly, time is a great fact to change many things as comparison between two scenario where exist five year gaps never suitable to imitate or follow their path. Perhaps in that time by analyzing this accident issue, they found out lacking of road facilities in Butler thus they had took that type of initiative. Without analysis, it is hard to understand that for what reasons this may happen.

Secondly, one important issue will be skipped. Probably, Prunty's road accident occurs for lack of insufficient training of driver or their poor qualification. This matter is not clear in this argument. Likely, vehicle conditions are an important factor to consider these issues. Without driving license and poor conditions of vehicles are responsible for road accidents.

Last of all, it should undertake into consideration that the population density. If there density is higher than more vehicles are needed to fulfill the demand. So, it must ensure that enough vehicles are available in the roads. As proper traffic control at intersection point may helpful in this regard. It must be count that the time of accident. Perhaps without proper facilities of light at night, most accidents are occurs.

Finally, author must provide necessary information to bolster this argument, only speed limit and copy another county strategy never will be fruitful if proper analysis is conducted.