19-)

Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of KICK observes that two years ago, WCQP decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast and after this decision there had been significant increase in its share of the radio audience in Rockville. There is a nationwide survey which also indicates that many radio listeners are quite interested in such call-in advice programs. So, the manager thinks that KICK should also include more call-in advice programs to increase its audience share as well as WCQP. However, before taking such action the following questions are needed to be answered and according to the answers of these questions, they should decide whether or not including more call-in advice programs in the radio station.

First of all, does the increase in share of audience in WCQP derives from the increase in call-in advice programs? There may be another reason that causes to increasing in the number of audience in Rockville who prefer to listen WCQP. If the manager is sure that this the exact reason of gaining more audience then he can start to think about making such decision.

Moreover, the manager should keep in his mind that people’s desire may change from location to location. It may be true that the people in Rockville are interested in such programs but there is no guarantee that the people in Medway also will give the same reaction. WCQP succeded this two years ago in Rockville. We are talking about two years later and different location. Therefore, anticipating same results is not logical. If there is another survey which is dependable and asks the people in survey whether they are interested in such programs and the answer is yes for this question it would be reasonable to make such attempt.

Finally, there is a nationwide survey that may affect the decision of the manager. The manager should ask if this survey is representative to make such decision. Maybe the participants of this survey is not elected in right manner and maybe the results of the survey are not compatible with the desire of people who lives in Medway. Just looking the results of survey and not questioning the content of survey maybe highly misleading.

All in all, the manager should answer the above questions and then take a decision. Otherwise surveys may be misleading.