1.Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough,

The writer claims that the habitat of Arctic deer has a temperature range that is warm enough for the plants the deer fed on to grow and cold enough for the ice to maintain solid for deer to walk across. Also, according to the local hunters, there is a decline in the population of the deer, matching with the melting ice caused by global warming. Hence, the writer concludes that global warming breaks the immigration pattern of the deer and leads to the declination. However, the writer oversimplifies the problem based on several reasons.

To begin with, due to global warming that leads to a higher temperature, it is reasonable for the writer to ascribe the decline of population to the melting ice, since the living space of Arctic deer is limited. Yet, the writer ignores that the higher temperature can have dramatic influence on plants. In fact, temperature not only affects the phase of water, but also affect plant growth. It is widely accepted that plants are sensitive to temperature, humidity, sunshine, and other environmental variations. If the plants that the deer fed on can be nutritious enough only in a certain condition, rising temperature will be vital to them. As a consequence, without sufficient food supply, it is not possible for Arctic deer to maintain its population.

Moreover, the statement that the population of the deer has declined is based on local hunters’ experiences and observations, which is not convincing because hunting areas of hunters are limited. For hunters, it is unlikely for them to reach places that the cost on energy and resources during the trip surpass the overall profit, nevertheless, the deer might migrate in different pattern to adapt to the environmental variations. For example, if the ice is truly melting and blocking Artic deer from migrating in their age-old pattern, the deer might move north to a higher latitude where the water still remains solid. As a result, it is reasonable for the local hunters to make the conclusion that the population of deer is decreasing, since they are unable to find Arctic deer existing in places where they used to be. To be more precise, the population of deer still remains the same, they are just living in places that local hunters are unfamiliar with.

Finally, facing issue about decreasing population of Arctic deer, the writer claims that the melting ice caused by global warming is destroying the habitat of Arctic deer, which leads to a decline in its number. In other words, the writer considers the declination is happening among all ages of the Arctic deer. However, to affect the population of a certain species, the birth rate and the death rate of its infants are also significant factors. Baby deer are more vulnerable to threats such as enemies, environmental changes and deceases. Likewise, an unbalance in gender might also be a factor to decrease the birth rate of Arctic deer. Hence, it is necessary to have more specific details and evidence about the population of the Arctic deer. To do so, scientists can randomly capture some deer and install GPS system on their bodies to gain data of their locations and surroundings.

In sum, global warming is truly showing some harmful effect toward the bio-system supported by credible scientific research and observation. However, there is no direct evidence in the article indicating that the population of Artic deer is declining due to global warming, which weakens the argument.