Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

The statement supports the idea that government should be inactive to scientific research and development. It is true that from the aspect of academic freedom, restriction from the government to confine scientific research is harmful, since researchers has to be neutral and objective to their research.

If restriction has been exercised, research might be affected by the tendency of the government, which may bias the reality of the research to prevent from being banned and ceased by the government. However, in certain cases, I believe that restrictions are needed.

Scientific research related to humanity need to be scrutinized carefully. For example, the duplication of human beings. Duplication has long been a controversial scientific research, certainly, it is truly stunning and edge-cutting to have a duplication of oneself. However, it also galvanizes protesters and dissidents since as it appears to be inhumane. Moreover, it draws more problems if there is no restriction on such research. Crime rates might increase drastically, and when people are accused of involving in a criminal, they can simply argue that it is done by their duplications. With these potential treats and risks that people are unable to control, restrictions is the most expedient way to the problem. Another example is the chemical weapon. Without any restriction, virus related research might transmogrify into a new development of weapon.

Moreover, the fund of scientific research is partly from the government. In order to prevent scientists that received money from the government being inactive and wasting, it is reasonable for the government to enact some regulations and rules that researchers need to abide to: such as regular report of the progress, budget examination, etc... After all, these money are from the taxes of citizens in the country, the government are responsible to scrutinize whether these money have been used wisely and appropriately. The restrictions are not exerted directly to the content and direction of the scientific research, yet the restrictions circumscribe the process of it. Hence, the statement of the article that any restriction is not allowed appears to be too dogmatic.

Nevertheless, other research that is not subsidized by the government and does not related to humanity, I believe fewer restrictions will be beneficial. Academic freedom should be respected by both people and the government. After all, scientific research and development is the impetus of technology. Without the buttress of scientific research, technological advancement can't be prosperous. Hence, government should not interfere scientific research as much as possible, only if it is necessary.

In sum, to some extent, I conditionally agree with the statement. Government should revere the freedom of academy, while some restrictions can't be ignored.