The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The best way of teaching has long been a controversial issue, since it can be examined from both positive and negative aspects. Teachers are able to help students establish their confidence by praising their good performance, while they can also teach students by pointing out their faults. However, in the statement, the writer claims that negative actions made by students have to be ignored, and that teachers should only focus on student’s positive behavior. As a result, I strongly disagree with the statements for several reasons.

Admittedly, praising students for their good actions can not only make them feel confident, but also encourage them to do more right things. Suppose a student is praised by the teacher for his excellent class presentation, he might think that it is worth to prepare his presentation before class and give an even better performance next time. However, for those overconfident students, they might become arrogant and incapable of perceiving their faults if all the negative actions are ignored. Without indicating their mistakes but merely accolade what they have done well, students might easily misconstrue their 80 percentage comprehension as a hundred percent. Such ignorance will exacerbate as they learn more and more by this way, causing severe damage and incompletion to their knowledge and behavior. Hence, negative actions should not be neglected.

Though the importance of discerning mistakes and correcting them is undoubtable, in some cases, it is more beneficial to ignore some negative actions, especially for students who are extremely diffident, and those special students with natural diseases. These students are already lacking of confidence and even having a sense of self-abasement, and surely they might have worse performance than the others. If all of the comments they received judging their actions are negative, it only makes the matter worse. Instead of blaming them for their disadvantages, praising them for making improvements appears to be more appropriate. After all, what they need the most is a sense of achievement.

Finally, there is no absolutely best way of education, it varies with individuals. Teachers need to have a sense for the type of their students and provide appropriate learning method accordingly. Since students have different learning abilities and tendency, differentiated teaching might be the best way to teach. Praising positive actions is only one of the multitude methods that is only suitable to those students who are humble and perceivable to their disadvantages.

In conclusion, the best way to teach can't be defined by a certain method. Since every individual is unique and different, the best way to learn differs drastically. In addition, praising positive actions and correcting negative actions are not antithetical, in fact, the combination of both methods can be much more beneficial than separating them. Hence, the statement is not acceptable.