“Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places”

Laws, as rules and guidelines that all people should abide to, are necessary to be accurate and precise. Being a protection to defend human rights and a measure to exercise punishments, laws are often considered to be stringent and hidebound. However, in several cases, I agree that laws should be flexible.

First of all, laws are enacted by human beings, when people are gradually changing their mind due to some external influences, some laws will appear to be unsuitable. For example, the recent gun-control debate galvanized by the fatal shooting in a high school in Florida. Gun-control has always been a debatable issue in the United States, especially in recent decades. The right that people are allowed to bear arms originates from the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution, which means that any law that restrict people from owning gun fire goes against the Constitution, which makes it invalid. However, in recent years, with plentiful crimes related to gun abuse, gun-control advocates urge the government to take measures to control the access to guns. Though the authority tends to regard the issue as an individual crime instead of problems of the laws, the content successfully draws people's attention toward the legitimacy of bearing guns.

Another example is the privacy laws. Before the technological advancements, privacy and other knowledge-related products are not considered personal properties. However, with the nowadays privacy and patent are significant issues that can't be ignored. The contentious haggle between Apple and FBI indicates an increasing importance of privacy laws. The authority is demanding the corporation to hack its customer's phone in order to obtain information of the crime, yet Apple refuse the request claiming that there is not righteous to offend personal privacy. In the past centuries, there is no such controversy, since businesses do not have an access to personal privacy, nevertheless, nowadays, it becomes a debatable question. Hence, laws should be flexible in order to catch up with the rapid pace of technology and the progress of personal rights.

Laws should be flexible, however, it still need to be scrutinized and examined carefully. The flexibility of laws is used to adapt to the changing environment and prevent from being outdated, however, some try to corrupt by using the flexibility of law. In India and China, both countries had enacted laws to punish corruption, but why does corruption still happened so frequently? Some candidates are receiving money as subsidy from businesses and claiming that according to the law, it is legal. Thus, for laws that confine authority's power, it might appear beneficial if the law is draconian and inflexible.

In sum, whether law should be flexible, I agree that in some cases, it appear to be more reasonable if the law is flexible. However, every law is needed to be enacted carefully.