The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books. We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

The board of directors of the Monarch Book suggest the company to replace the children’s book section to a new café, which may attract more customers and make more profit, based on two main reasons. Firstly, the population of children under 10 is decreasing. Secondly, the competitor of the company, Regal books, has recently open a new café. However, the board of directors oversimplified this issue for several aspects.

To begin with, according to the recent nation census, the board of directors claims that the decline of children population might cause children’s book section become less popular. This appears reasonable if the ratio of children visiting the book store and the overall children population always remains constant, which means the children entering the book store will decrease proportionally with the decline of the population of children. Yet, instead of being less popular, the children’s book section might become more popular due to the decline of population. Suppose two families have the same economic condition. While one family has one child, the another has ten children. Comparing with the family that has ten children waiting to be fed, it is more likely for the family with only one kid to concentrate more effort and resources on their child such as visiting book store and buying books.

Moreover, even if children’s book section is becoming less popular because of the decline in population, is it worthy to close it? Children under ten are so young that most of them go to a book store with their families. With a children’s book section, parents can be reassured of their children’s safety and they can enjoy their time reading magazines or books. On top of that, children may ask their parents to buy books that they want for them, especially most parents encourage their children to read, which make these children become potential buyers. As a result, if the company decide to discontinue children’s book section and open a new cafe, it might truly attract more customers. However, there will be a following customer loss that not only reduces number of children, but also families.

Finally, in the recommendation letter, the directors urge that since the competitor is now having a café in their book stores, it is necessary to open a café too. Worried about being surpass by their competitor, it is understandable for the directors to make such conclusion without hesitate. However, they oversimplify the cost and effort that is needed to open a new café. For instance, where to find the chief and who will set the menu? Moreover, the regulations and rules for a café and a book store are totally distinct. With a café, the company will need to deal with more serious problems such as where to emit waste air from the kitchen, how to comply with the sanitarian criteria and other requirements from the government. Without considering these aspects, opening a new café will be risky and might cause negative effect to the company. Besides, the directors mention the new café in Regal Books without details and information, which the company are unable to evaluate its risk and determine whether it’s surely profitable.

In sum, the board of directors of Monarch Book have positive intention to the company, which they try to maximize the company’s profit. However, they underestimate children’s influence on their book store and oversimplify the feasibility to open a new café.