'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The author of the memorandum advice the company to increase coverage of local news and weather on all the company’s news programs, since the company has received complaints about the late-night news program, which has increased coverage of national news over the past year. Most complaints argue that there should be more local news and weather report during the program. In addition, a local business has cancelled advertising the late-night news program. Based on these reasons, the author claims that it will be beneficial to adopt the advice. However, several statements are questionable in the memo.

Firstly, according to the complaints received by the company, the author urges to make an adaption to all the news programs. Since critics and opinions from the audience is one of the multitude indicators to measure whether the news program is popular, it is reasonable for the author to take measures to alleviate the disaffection of the complaining audience. However, to make the statement more tenable, the audience measurement of the program should be considered. As the most direct indicator reflecting how much percentage of population is watching the television program, it will be more persuasive and might have an opposite result. For instance, if the audience measurement of the late-night news program is instead, increasing over the past year, this means that more people are watching and bringing more profit to the company. In such situation, the complaining audience are unable to represent the popularity of the program, since the reticent majority supports the increasing coverage of national news.

Moreover, the author claims that due to the complaints about the late-night news program, all the news programs of the company should increase coverage of local news and weather. Even the company has truly received plentiful complaints over the late-night news program, it is unreasonable to make such statement. No evidence is adduced by the author to prove that the audience tend to have more local news and weather reports on all the news programs. To determine whether the statement is adoptable, a survey can be conducted by the company about people’s predilection to the news. If the result supports the author’s statement, it will be more convincing to adopt the advice.

Finally, the author ascribes the termination of an advertising contract with a local business to the content of late-night news program, and assumes that with increasing coverage of local news and weather, no further cancelation will happen. Certainly, local businesses might incline to the local news, there’s a better chance for those companies to appear on the screen. However, several reasons also affect company’s attitude toward their advertising strategies. For instance, local businesses may find it more perspective to invest on website advertisement, since nowadays, the Internet is so convenient and pervasive. Another possible reason is that the competitors of the company are offering some new inducements in their advertisement contract, attracting local businesses to cancel the contracts they used to follow. Therefore, by simply asking the reasons why the business terminate the contract, the company are able to examine whether the news content is harming their profit.

In conclusion, the author has a positive intention to the development of the company. It is reasonable to take measures to respond to the complaints from the audience, however, it should be done appropriately.