25. The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away

The author claims that it is profitable to start a jazz music club near in the city of Monroe, since jazz music is one significant features of the city. In addition, citing from a nationwide study that that jazz fans have an average spent on jazz entertainment which is about $1,000 per year, and that the nearest jazz music club is far away from the city, the author believes that the business will succeed. However, several assumptions made by the author are unpersuasive, which weakens the article in several aspects.

To begin with, the claiming that over 100,000 people were participated in the annual jazz festival of the city last summer, the author assumes that the number of participants in the following years will be considerable. However, it is unconvincing to extrapolate the number of attendees this year by merely regarding the number of the previous year. The success of the jazz music festival might contribute to a famous jazz musician having a world tour that coincidentally held in Monroe. Hence, the 100,000 attendees are only an outburst, which weakens the statement proposed by the author.

Moreover, even if the large number of attendees is a common phenomenon showing the festival is truly attractive and popular, the statement that a jazz music club will be profitable is untenable. The statement relies on the fallacious assumption that these attendees will be likely to spend their money on the music club. Certainly, high intensity of population might be potential consumers to the music club, yet there is no guarantee that they are likely to stay in a jazz music club. In fact, people might tend to have a picnic with their friends outdoor while enjoying the festival. Besides, to start a new business, the author need to consider the costs such a hiring employees and paying the loan. Especially, when the festival is over, do people in the city truly like to go to a jazz music club anymore? Without taking these costs into consideration, the statement appears to be quixotic.

Finally, the study cited by the author is not strong enough to sustain the statement. Since the study is a nationwide study, and the number is an average number, it is untenable to assumes that every jazz fan in Monroe are able to spend $1,000 per year. The number will fluctuate among different areas and states. In addition, the specific number in the study represents the money spent on jazz entertainment, which is too general. Without pieces of evidence showing the distribution of expense, we can hardly ascertain that the money will be spent in a jazz club.

In sum, though provided evidence and showing statistics, the statements proposed by the author is still unreasonable. Several assumptions made by the author are too optimistic, and that the evidence is insufficient to buttress author's ideas.