The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia."Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, f

According to a twenty-year study, over the past twenty years, headache has been ameliorated by processed food that contains salicylates, which is a chemical substance categorized in the same group with aspirin. Hence, the author of the article assumes that with more and more salicylates being added to the food, less people will suffer from headache. However, the assumption is fallacious for several reasons.

First of all, the statement relies on the erroneous assumption that salicylate has the similar effect over headache, since these two substances are in the same chemical family group. However, sometimes substances in same chemical family group can have completely distinct influence on human body. Take methanol and ethanol for example. These two substances are similar in their chemical structures and are categorized in the same group. Yet, ethanol is also known as alcohol, which is innocuous to human if not to drink excessively. On the contrary, methanol can cause blindness or even death to those who mistakenly ingest it. As a result, medical research and chemical evidence should be provided to substantiate the assumption that salicylates is a prescription to headache just like aspirin.

Moreover, the twenty-year study mentioned in the article shows a correlation between the salicylates used in food processing and a decline in average number of headache that has reported. However, the statement is unpersuasive by taking correlation as causation, several reasons will also mitigate headache such as: people are becoming more aware of their diet and health, people who suffer from headache might find new treatment to relieve their agony, a new medicine which is more effective than aspirin is now widely accepted etc… Therefore, to strengthen the argument that salicylates in the processed food is the primary factor that cause the declination, other factors should be excluded.

In addition, even if salicylate is truly effective to ameliorate headache, and the twenty-year study that the decline in number of headache attributes to the salicylate contained in food is credible, is it plausible to make conclusion that more salicylate in food will lead to less headache? For aspirin, the medicine for headache, there is a limited dose that an individual is able to take every day, otherwise, it will be ineffective or even cause negative effects. The same logic goes for salicylates, after all, salicylate is a chemical substance instead of a panacea. The supposition in the article is too sanguine, however, experiment could be conducted to study how much salicylate is capable of being absorbed by human body and will not cause side effects.

In sum, to evaluate the credibility of the argument, more medical evidence and research should be made. The author has a positive perspective over salicylate, nevertheless, several questions are needed to be answered beforehand.