Argument(5): The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette:One Balmer island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of acc

In the letter, the author claims that during the summer months, the Balmer Island has a drastically increase of population which leads to the accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. To reduce the accident rate, the author suggests that a restriction on numbers of mopeds should be made, since the Seaville's town on the neighboring island has ameliorated the problem after putting restrictions. The statement has a positive intention, however, some questions should be asked to examine whether the advice is adoptable.

To start with, it is necessary to comprehend the details of accidents involving pedestrians and mopeds. For most traffic accidents, there are a perpetrator and a victim. Certainly, when pedestrians are involved in traffic accidents, they are often regarded as victims, since human bodies are feeble compared to the vehicle. However, in some cases, the pedestrians breaking the traffic rules such as running the red light also need to take some responsibilities to the accidents. In the letter, the author imputes all the responsibilities to the moped users, regardless of who is the one that breaks the rules. Especially, some people nowadays tend to glue their eyes on the screen while wandering, having no awareness of their surroundings. Indeed, without moped, there will be no accidents between pedestrian and moped no matter who is the perpetrator. Yet, such measure is unfair to those moped users.

Moreover, the author suggests to reduce the daily supply of mopeds in every moped rental store from 50 to 25. This appears to be a wise solution to the problem since the number of moped might become half as usual. However, is there any limitation on the number of moped rental stores? If there is no limitation on the number of stores, the restriction on daily supply might double the number of store. To be more precise, it's a matter of demand and supply. If the restriction is adopted, there will be a short period of demand surpassing supply. This will evoke residents on the island to start more rental business because the excessive consumers make the business lucrative. A rental store could simply divide their store into two parts and yield one part to their relatives or business collaborators. With such respond, the shop owners can easily elude the limitation and make the same profit. Finally, the number of moped on the island still remains the same, which makes this solution feckless.

In addition, the statement relies on the assumption that the population density and the geographic conditions of Balmer Island and Seaville’s town are the same. Certainly, a measure that solves the similar problem is worth studying and adopting, however, the situations have to be similar to maximize the benefit. Suppose Seaville’s town has a lower population density and smooth landscape. The town can effectively control the accident rate by reduce the amount of moped, since the fewer people is on the road, the less likely an accident will happen. On the contrary, Balmer Island is not commodious enough to accommodate up to 100,000 visitors and its landscape is rugged, which not only makes the island crowded but risky to happen accidents. Therefore, a reduction in number of moped in Balmer will not be as effective as in Seaville’s town.

In conclusion, the evidence in the letter is not strong enough to substantiate the argument. Without these evidence, whether the recommendation is adoptable should be scrutinized carefully.