The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College."To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current

The director of Buckingham college claims that it is necessary to build more dormitories in the college. The main reasons offered to support this statement is that students enrolling to Buckingham is increasing recently, the cost to live off-campus is also increasing, and that with appealing dormitories, students will be more willing to apply. Based on these three reasons, the director recommends the college to invest on school accommodation, however, this advice is unacceptable based on several reasons.

Firstly, based on the recent growth of student enrollment, the director concludes that the number of enrollment will double in 50 years. In the past few years, the growth of Buckingham college enrollment may attribute to a collaboration with famous companies which provide the college with plentiful internship opportunities, resources, and sponsorship. The growth may also increase proportionally with the population growth. Nevertheless, a collaboration is unlikely to last for 50 years likewise, a population growth rate is barely possible to remain constant for 50 years. As a result, there are several reasons that will affect the growth rate of enrollment yet failed to be considered in this statement.

Moreover, the director suggests that due to the rising rent for students living outside the campus, it will be beneficial to build more dormitories to help students living off-campus save budget. It appears tenable at first glance since the raise in rent is burdensome for students who live off-campus. However, it should be discussed in different cases whether the up rise is resulting from economic growth. If the country has a growing trade surplus and steady economic growth, which means people are making more money, the rise will be reasonable since it’s a natural phenomenon indicating an enhancement in quality of life. On the contrary, if the owners are trying to bring up the real estate and maliciously exploit students, the construction will be necessary.

In spite of the fact that the fee of the dormitory is really economical and the room amenities are of avant-garde, it is just one of the factors for students in their consideration of choosing schools. Who would simply just use one factor to make their final decision for their choices? Besides, it is the issue of education—choosing university—that they are dealing with, which cannot be overemphasized for all regards. The factor of whether boarding the school or not is just one of the multitude of reasons for a student, a sound one, to employ as the direct cause and reason relation for choosing their ideal school. To be more concise, there are a great number of other reasons for locating the best school, such as school reputation, rating, scholarships or career assistance and the like. Therefore, an over simplistic conclusion is made for the evidence offered—establishing more new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham.

In conclusion, the recommendation that Buckingham college should build more dormitories needs more precise testaments to strengthen it. To do so, the director can provide evidence that are possible to attract more students to enroll or conduct a survey on economic condition of students renting houses out of school. The recommendation has a positive intention, yet with limited budget, it requires more supporting details and examinations.