1.Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough,

The author concludes here that the purported decline in deer population in Canada’s artic region is the result of the deer being unable to follow migration across frozen sea due to recent global warming trends. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify the conclusion, the author notes that declining in deer population in coincides with the recent global warming trends that have caused sea ice to melt. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that global warming is the only cause of decrease in deer population in arctic region. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. Arctic region might have had different effect which is not examined. Moreover, deer are very adaptive in nature. That means, if ice melting be the case, it cannot alone cause the decrease in population. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly states the condition of the arctic region and adaptability of deer at the time of the survey.

The argument also cites that the reports were taken from local hunters. No professional surveyors were assigned to get the accurate reports of deer population decrease. The local hunters might not have dug deeper into the matter and thus reported only what they saw without much deeper knowledge of the same. This again is a weak and unsupported claim.

Finally, there are lot more other reasons for population decrease which is not being taken into consideration here. Food can be extinct and as result the deer population decreased. Deer hunting can also be a major reason for population decrease which the argument has neglected. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey of possible reasons for population decrease of deer in arctic region. Finally, to better evaluate the argument it would be necessary to know more information about how the overall environment of the arctic region must have changed to cause the effect mentioned.