The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

This topic raises a controversial issue of whether the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not by competition. Indisputably, a leader is responsible for the cooperation among the members of a team. Unless a leader believes in cooperation, team members cannot be functional enough to proceed with their task. World knows the importance of team working. Thus, I generally agree with the given statement that young people should be instilling in them a sense of cooperation to get the best out of him/her as a leader.

Firstly, leadership is meaningful when there are people to follow the leader. Leaders can make a difference when they have got people's support with them. Today, in the age of equality, every person wants their opinion to be heard. In a conference room of a meeting, everyone is allowed to speak their part and then they reach a decision together. This sense of cooperation helps the leader inculcate faith of the fellow people in him and thus making it easy for him to make a decision.

Also, cooperation among people is what helps in any kind of decision making that would affect a lot of people. No political parties or board of directors would have survived if a single person was to make all the decisions by himself. The more number of mind involves in a task, the more it becomes refined. On the other hand, a mind of competition would only want to win in the immediate situation rather than having a long term development goal. At times, competition becomes so dirty that instead of good, it harms everyone.

Although, a sense of competition is also necessary for progress. Human has a tendency to work better under a competitive situation. This enables him to work hard to win the competition, be it the government sector, industry sector or any other field. Any industry's or government's ultimate goal has always been to be number one industry and the government in power, respectively. But this reason alone cannot justify that young people should only be instilling with competition mind and not cooperation. Rather, I believe that this competitive mind should come with cooperation. Every person participating in competition should participate as a team of a particular industry or govt.

In conclusion, although a sense of competition acts as a catalyst for progress in any sector, the sense of cooperation is what keeps it going. The more people join hands for a cause, the easier the task becomes. At the end of the day, the government, industry or any other field is working on only for themselves but for all. Thus, to achieve a common goal of serving people, they should first believe in cooperation. Thus, I stand by my position that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for government, industry or any other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and competition, but as a team for the later.