according to a recent report, charting among college and university students is on the rise. .....

According to the report, the author contends that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes to decrease cheating among students. However, the evidence provided by the author is insufficient.

The author claims that Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code. However, we have no information about the exact number of reduction of student cheating. It is possible that the registration of a student in Groveton College has been dropping over the past five years; therefore, because of the reduction in registration, it is very normal that the number of student cheating is going to drop. Even if the number of registration did not drop over the past five years, we must know whether the report is authentic not fabricated? All of us know that a bunch of colleges would make lots of advertisements to let everyone know how great the school is and how preeminent the students of them are. Thus, maybe Groveton College fabricated the result of the survey trying to make the parents send their children to Groveton desperately.

The author also states that there was an apparent difference when the honor codes are implemented five years later. Here we need to know the precise figure among the past five years. It is likely that the case of cheating has higher than thirty cases in the first two years. But the author only provides us the beautiful data what they want us to see. In addition, the number of cheating case is reported by the teacher. Thus, we need to know whether the management tier of the school would cut the salary of the teacher or dismiss the teacher if the teacher reports too many cases to the chancellor. If the teacher does not report the genuine result because of the threaten, then the report is no value to be discussed.

Furthermore, the author argues that all the other colleges should adopt honor codes in order to decrease cheating among students. However, we need to know whether the condition of the Groveton or the institutions of the Groveton can represent any other universities? The author seems to assume that other college also has the problem of cheating. Perhaps some of the schools have the trouble of cheating, it does not mean that they should substitute honor codes for current cheating-forbidding method. We should know more explicit details of the other schools before we suggest those school to adopt honor codes.

To conclude, the author must present more evidence like the above mentioned to strengthen the claim.