According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt suggests that, all colleges should adopt honor codes to reduce cheating cases during tests. This has been concluded based on a study that cheating cases have declined in Groveton College since they adopted honor code. This recommendation can be adopted only after the

below questions are answered.

Firstly, is there any method deviced to stop false accusations and maintain the integrity of cheating cases reported by students? This is extremely important as there can be several

students may put false accusations on their classmates due to personal rivelry. There should be structure defined and requirement of proofs should be necessary if someone wants to report a cheating case involving their classmates.

Secondly, are the structure of examination and sitting arangement of Groveton College and all the other universities similar? This is important to study in cases where sitting arrangement is not in a way where students can see how other students are cheating. Hence not everyone may be aware of the false practice taking place in the classroom which may lead to many such cases go unnoticed. Also, exam structures can be different for different examinations, this may obviate honor code obviate as many universities keeps examinations online, with multiple choice questions. Such exams have different questions for every student due to which honor code may not be

required

Furthermore, it is nowhere mentioned in the prompt that cheating instances are reduced due to only honor code. While it may be true that some cases may have reduced after the honor code was applied in university. But is that on only reason why the cheating cases have reduced. For example, it may be possible that exam difficulty level has reduced in the later years that let to reduced cheating cases in Groveton College as they dont need to cheat to get the passing score

anymore.

Lastly, was the study conducted included students who cheat on regular basis? If not then there may be a possibily that they were not going to cheat in an exam regardless of an invigilator

around. For instance, if the study was conducted with twenty students of a classrom who were performing averagly on their tests and were rarely involved in any such activities. In such ascenario this study will not reflect accurate results and students who actually cheat may continue it even if honor code is in place, because their priority is passing the exams and not their reputation within their peers.

Hence, before reaching to any conclusion on applying honor code in all universities and colleges it is important to present data (based on scientific case study) so that it can be properly

compared with the previous circumstances. Applying such new strategy without much research on all colleges can lead to dampning of student's motivation who are working hard for their scores.