According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise.

However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

In this article the author points out that cheating among college students is on the rise . he/she aslo projects that using honor code will help universities to decrease cheating. To bolster this assertion the article renders the fact that Groventon’s honor code system showed good results. To further support this projection, the article aslo mentions a report that students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code. Close scrutiny of each of these facts reveals that none of them lends credible support to the conclusion as it stands.

As for the first fact, the author seems to assume that a system that universities use are the main cause of cheating. However, he/she ignores other causes of cheating; for example, the hardness of courses or students personality to name just a few. Without considering other factors such as these, the author cannot justify his/her assertion that honor code would help universities to decrease cheating.

The author’s projection relies on what might be a poor analogy between Groveton university and other universities. Perhaps the same course of action would be ineffective in other universities due to educational differences between Groveton university and others. If it transpires, for example, that weak students are admitted to Groveton university or the university does not have good facilities that can help students to learn properly, then the author’s conclusion in unwarranted. In short, what might have helped Groveton university to decrease cheating would not necessarily help other universities.

The author’s sweeping claim that all university have to use honor code is unjustified. Perhaps some, or even most universities cannot implement this method due to their conditions. For example, it is possible that cheating’s level in other univerities is low or they have better method that don not rely on student. In either event, the argument should be modified to expressly limit the conclusion to only those which have not a good method.

In sum, the argument relies on scant evidence and questionable report that renders it unconvincing and ill grounded as it stands. The article would have been stronger had it provided information respecting other universities cheating rate and their strategies in decreasing cheating.