According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise.

However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The author of the text concluded that the decrease in the reported cheating cases (reported being the key word here) is due to the moral code introduced among the students of Groveton College. However, the reasoning behind them is not entirely sound since the analysis of this situation omitted a group of considerations.

First and foremost, even thought the idea of a system that implicitly trust in the students honesty and thus, promotes the creation and reinforcing of positive moral values is certainly appealing from an educative point of view, there are negative implications that could negate all the benefits from such system. Worse even, assuming that the cases reported by the students are in fact, a true reflection of reality without critically examining the evidence is, at best, naïve.

Because reporting a cheating situations goes inherently against the students best interests, it could be equally assumed that not all these cases are reported. The real number could be considerably higher, meaning the author is basing the conclusions on false evidence and ergo, these are not valid. The moral code could be making things worse, but since the data is being collected by a flawed mechanism, this reality would not be accounted for.

Moreover, the students can use the reporting system as a vehicle for personal gain, or even settle scores with their peers. An internal dispute between two or more students could end up in one of them fabricating evidence and submitting a false report of cheating to the school principals, as a way of obtaining revenge or causing prejudice to the opposing parts. On this sense, the text presented does not mention that there are any kind of verification devices to prevent this from happening.

Although is true that building trust relationships between educates and teachers are a necessary part of any effective educational system, this shouldn't be overextended. A more effective approach to the cheating would be to combine the moral code with a set of rules and verification mechanisms enforced by the institution's authorities. Also, the ways for gathering feedback data should have means to verify the information provided and prevent false accusations to be made against innocent people.