"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

In the memo, advertising director concludes that the Super Screen Movie Production Company must invest their greater share of budget in advertising in order to have more movie viewers. The author's conclusion is potentially valid, but, before the conclusion can be adequately assessed, the author must address following three questions.

First of all, the largest leap in the argument is the assumption that the people would not go to see Super Screen-produced movies in near future as in the past. The author must answer to the question that, would the preferences of movie goers remain same all the time in future ? In addition, though fewer people attended the Super Screen-produced movies, is there any certainty that the trend would remain same? Possibly the new generations might really love the super screen movies and the number of movie viewers of the company may increase. Hence, the author must answer this question before making his recommendation.

A second major question stems from "percentage of positive reviews" that has increased during past year. What was the actual increment in the positive reviews? Is the increment in positive reviews really significant? It is possible that only few people among moviegoers responded and all of them provided positive response. Conceivably, the responses from the moviegoers might not be true, they might have just pretend to give positive feedback. In addition, there is not mentioned about the authenticity of feedback form that the Company provided to collect response of Super Screen- produced movies. If either of the questions are not answered, the conclusion drawn by author is significantly weakened.

Last but not least, the argument lacks a depth of details on the assumption that public are not aware about the Super Screen-produced movies. What if people are already known about the movies and actually have neglected the movies? What if the Super- Screen quality did not meet the expectations of moviegoers? What if the sound quality was not good there was super screen ? It is also possible that the Super-Screen-produced movies lack interesting stories and are full of nonsense animations. Maybe people didn't like the movies because of the lack of action scenes and their favorite movie actors. If the above scenario proves to be true, the argument does not hold water.

To sum up, the argument seems to be plausible at first glance, but, upon closer scrutiny, it falls apart. If author hopes to make the argument more credible, he/she must address the abovementioned questions accurately.