"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The argument is about a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company that says that the company has to increase its budget for marketing to regain the customers it lost during the past year. The director states, getting more percentage of positive reviews, the advertisements not reaching the targetted audience, good quality of movies produced as reasons for his assertion. However, before considering the director's suggestion, the following questions have to be answered.

First of all, the director assumes that the positive reviews received were true. What if the positive reviews received are not genuine? It might be possible that these reviews were given by hard-core fans of the productions company or more possibly, die-hard fans of a particular hero or a heroine. Since it was their idol's movie, it is possible that they were trying to advertise the movie by publishing fake reviews. Also, what if the positive reviews were only for one particular movie? Just because the average went up, it does not mean that most of the movies were of good quality. If any of this is true, the director has arrived at the wrong conclusion and his argument will not hold water.

Secondly, the director posits that the company's ads were not reaching its prospective audience. But what if the ads reached the intended audience, if not more, and still the footfall for the movies is less? It might be possible that the movies were boring and that is the reason for the lower footfall. Also, what if the quality of the ads displayed is bad? It is plausible that the movie was good and to save some money, the ads were assigned to a local company that doesn't do well. If this is true, then the conclusion the author arrived at saying it was the reach of ads that is causing the problem might not be true.

Finally, the director said that by increasing their budget for advertising, the production company will regain its former glory. What if by increasing its budget to advertising, the company had to cut short the budget to the actual movie or lay off some employees or technicians that were important for making a good movie? It might be possible that the company had a limited overall budget, and if it were to increase the advertising, it had to compromise on the quality of the movie itself. As a result, the company had to work with less renowned actors or produce lower quality movies that altogether hampers the company's image in the public.

In conclusion, though the director of the marketing department suggested some sound ways that can bring the company's success back, his claims were not well substantiated with solid evidence. Had he provided more clarity on the quality of the ads published, a detailed survey of the positive reviews received, one can arrive at a better conclusion.