According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies act

The director claims that since there is a decline in the number of people attending Super Screen-produced movies in the last year despite of increasing percentage of positive reviews, Super Screen Movie production company must invest in advertising in order to make sure that the positive reviews reach a larger mass. This claim is based on a fallacious causality and is hence unconvincing. Stated in this way, the argument reveals poor reasoning and lead of failth. Also, the director fails to mention several key factors based on which it could be evaluated.

Firstly, the director claims that albeit the percentage of the positive reviews increased, there is a decline in the number of cinegoers. And, this proves that there is nothing wrong in quality of the movies. This claim is too weak to be convincing. The director takes into account percentages instead of real-time statistics. To illustrate, if there were one thousand people, who attended Super Screen-produced movies in the previous years and five-hundred people responded with a positive review, the percentage would be fifity percent. Whereas, if five-hundred cinegoers actually watch movies in the last year and four hundred and fifty people responds with a positive review, the percentage would come up to be ninety percent although the number of positive reviews are lesser this time. Hence, providing statistics in terms of percentage does not help to substantiate the argument that there is no problem with the quality of the movie.

Secondly, the director claims that they should invest in advertising which would make people aware of the good movies by Super Screen and hence appeal them to attend. However, it might be the case that the people are already cognizant about the reviews and they prefer watching it on digital platform. Nowadays, piracy has taken a huge toll on movie business and hence less number of people physically attend the movie shows. In this scenario, investing advertisement would be futile. What we need to know here is the reason why people actually stopped attending Super Screen movies.

Thirdly, the director fails to mention the form of reviews and where they are published. Also, the director plans to invest in advertising without describing any detail regarding the form of advertisement. For example, if the reviews are published in newspapers and the director is planning to invest in advertising in newspaper again, it might not be effective. The reason being, people have their own choices when it comes to daily lifestyle. People of that particular town probably prefer to check news online and not newspaper. Therefore, the director deciding to spend resources without considering these factors is unwarranted.

In conclusion, the argument is unsubstantiated and open to debate due to the above-mentioned flaws and lack of evidence. The director could have strengthened his argument to a greater extent if he could provide proofs for all his claims.