To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate.

The director claims that building new dormitories would attract prospective students to enroll in Buckingham College. Stated in this way, the argument manipulates facts, reveals poor reasoning and fails to mention several key factors based on which it could be evaluated. One of the biggest flaw of the argument is that it considers the number of dormitories to be the only deciding factor for choosing a college among students.

Firstly, the director claims that students would be more likely to choose Buckingham college because of its new dormitories. The director clearly does not take into account any other contributing factors, which could possibly enhance the popularity of a college among students. To illustrate, there could be other factors like the performance of ex-students, employment opportunities, quality if the faculty employed in the college. If Buckingham College lacks any of these qualities, students would not choose to enroll just because of new dormitories. Hence, it is necessary to know if there could be any deterrent in the director's plan.

Secondly, the director claims that dormitories should be increased in numbers because higher proportion of students would opt for on-campus housing due to exorbitant pricing of off-campus housing. What the director fails to consider is that if the housing rates of a town rises significantly, it is mostly because of the overall rise in the living cost of that town. In this scenario, the college authorities would face a huge loss if they continue to let their students avail on-campus housing at low prices. However, if the director can provide evidences of government funds, which would make it possible to let them offer low cost housing facilities to students, the argument could have been strengthened to an extent.

Thirdly, the director mentions the fact that the enrollment of Buckingham is growing and they anticipate it to almost double in 50 years. Now that is a quite a long time to predict the outcome and act accordingly. Also, if we consider that presently there are 100 students, there would be around 200 students in next 50 years. And, this simply indicates that the number will hardly increase by 2 every year. Additionally, there is no assurance of the fact that the enrollment will indeed increase. Hence, the plan of building a number of dormitories does not really make sense.

Finally, the director demonstrates a fallacious causality without any substantive evidence to strengthen the stated facts. Without the above mentioned evidences, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.