The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meal

The parent claims that the students will face serious health issues if Kensington Academy does not replace Swift Nutrition with another vendor. However, this claim is based on a fallacious causality which states that the nutritious food is not popular among students and they will end up bringing their own food, which is less healthy. Stated in this way, the argument reveals poor reasoning and leap of faith. Also, the parent fails to mention various key factors based on which it could be evaluated.

Firstly, the parent claims that Swift Nutrition provides not-so-enjoyable food options and it must be replaced. This claim is too weak to be convincing. If Swift Nutrition, which might be well known for its healthy food options, with some other vendor, which will possibly offer the students regular fast food options, the children will consequently fall ill. What is important to know is whether Swift nutrition is providing the children with right kind of healthy options or it is providing food options, which does not have any significance to children's health. If Swift Nutrition is already providing superior quality of low-calorie food, there is no reason to replace it with some other vendor. In fact, the children must be encourage to avail such facilities by making them aware of the importance of healthy food.

Secondly, the parent claims that replacing Swift Nutrition with some other vendor is the only way to stop children from bringing their own less healthy lunches. This claim is again based on an assumption, which lacks evidence. What needs to be answered is whether the other vendors, which possibly could replace Swift Nutrition, can really provide children with enjoyable yet healthy food options. If not, then there is no reason why Swift Nutrition should be replaced.

Thirdly, the parent claims that the children complains of the food provided by Swift Nutrition. However, the parent does not elaborate the specifics of the complain. What is necessary to know is whether it is only the lack of enjoyable food options or something else. Exposure to multifarious junk foods generally make children believe that they are the only good food options. If there is nothing wrong other than lack of options, replacing Swift Nutrition would be rather unnecessary.

In conclusion, the argument lacks substantive evidences to prove its claim. Without the answers to the above-mentioned questions and evidences, the argument remains unsubstantiated and remains open to debate.