Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.Write a response in which you di

ommunication plays a significant role in every company, be it a multinational company or a small firm with hundred employees. Efficient communication between employees and higher authorities or between employees is the key to a better management of the teams and their functioning. It is generally thought that such email correspondence should be monitored by the company management in order to ensure that the resources of the company are used frugally. I completely agree with this perspective and believe such monitoring and regulations will only help a company in a positive way.

Firstly, there are various instances when email correspondence is used for personal uses rather than an official purpose. For example, it is very common among employees to discuss trivial matters with their colleagues over email. There are many people I know, who even discusses their lunch plans over official email. Although it is not harmful in literal sense but all these inconsequential email correspondence just adds to the load of the inbox mails, thereby making the systems inefficient. If companies introduce regulations and monitor such communication, I feel it would instill a sense of responsibility among the employees and they would understand the importance of a certain decorum of communication.

Secondly, if the communication is not monitored it makes the company vulnerable to malpractices and lawsuits. To illustrate this, I would cite an example of an employee who is probably granted access to some confidential information regarding his or her team. And, if he is manipulated by some other organization or a third-party client and ends up sharing the information over mail, the company might face serious lawsuits. Hence, if there is a regular monitoring of such conversations over email, people would think twice before giving in to such malpractices.

Nevertheless, monitoring of email correspondence might prove to be an intrusion in privacy as well. For example, the crucial discussions, which generally takes place between higher authority officials, are generally conducted furtively. In case, there is a monitoring team, which ideally has access to every conversation, is itself not trustworthy, the company might face huge losses.

In conclusion, I feel the advantages of monitoring email correspondence in companies outweigh the disadvantages. Thus,it is recommended that every company invest resources to build up an efficient and trustworthy monitoring team.