We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening th

The argument claims that opening a cafe would attract a large number of customers to the Monarch Book store. The argument is flawed because it relies on assumptions, which has no real evidence. Stated in this way, the author reveals leap of faith and poor reasoning. Also, the argument fails to mention various key factors, based on which it could be evaluated.

Firstly, the author claims that the cafe could replace the children's book section as the recent census indicates a plummeting percentage of under ten population in the coming years. The claim is too weak to be convincing. The population census is considered instead of real-time statistics. Even if the census is right about future, the children's section might be one of the attraction for Monarch's customer base. Getting rid of the section might hamper the sells largely. Also, there could be online delivery services in Monarch Book store, which means that they deliver books nationally and internationally. In that case, national census hardly makes a difference. Also, what if there is a surge in immigrant population? In that case, national census would not be enough to determine the population of under 10 children. The statistics of the sales corresponding to each genre of books could have substantiated the argument to a greater extent.

Secondly, the author draws an analogy between Monarch books and Regal books. The author mentions that opening a cafe would help Monarch books to compete with Regal books, which houses a cafe as well. But the author did not provide any relevant information regarding Regal books. Regal is probably compensating for its mediocre collection of books by opening a cafe. Also, we need to have an overview of what kind of locations are the two book stores located. It might be the case that Monarch book store is nearby a market place and there are way too many cafes around it. Opening a cafe would not increase its customers significantly in that case scenario.

Thirdly, the author claims that Monarch books would benefit if they open a cafe. While in reality, running a cafe is very different from running a bookstore. They are entirely two different business models. Monarch books, being proficient in its own business might not be able to manage the cafe just as well. In this scenario, opening a cafe will discredit Monarch books of it reputation, which it earned over years and also might result in loss of its customer base. What we need to know is that if the Monarch store is really capable of handling a cafe.

In conclusion, the argument is weak and flawed for the above-mentioned reasons. The argument could have been strengthened if the author provided substantive evidences and statistics. Without these evidences and answers, the arguments remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.