Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions play a major role in shaping a well-round individual. Hence, it is necessary for the institutions to fulfill its own responsibilities in a sensible way such that the youth and the society is benefited. It is generally thought that educational organizations should make the students realize the fields of study that are unlikely to lead to success and help them to opt for a career, which would fetch him or her much success in future. However, I disagree with this perspective. I feel educational institutes should encourage students to follow their passion and not to be misled just by the success factor.

Firstly, success is a rather subjective topic. Educational institutes cannot really judge which field will be appropriate for which students. Institutes must nurture the passion of the students instead of making them abandon their passion just because the institutes feel that they are irrelevant subjects and cannot help the students to reach apex of the success. What success is to me, it might not be the same for someone else. Monetary success, designations, power are not the only form of success. For example, there are graduates in social science help and contribute to the social well-being of the society and probably the satisfaction what they receive out of contributing to society is equivalent to success for them.

Secondly, there are multifarious subjects these days. Ranging from old and well known subjects like arts, science, geography, history to upcoming subjects like photography, entrepreneurship programs are gaining huge popularity. Most of these subjects might not appeal to many because they are not associated with so-called monetary success, but they contribute equally to society. For example, subjects like history and archaeology are hardly considered interesting fields by the institutes. But, the historical excavations revealing rich and ancient history of various culture is as important as it is fascination for a country.

Thirdly, there are few fields which were considered obsolete and even few institutes considered removing them from curriculum, arts subject being one of them. But recently, we can see the comeback of various such career options, which we never thought of pursuing until few years back. To illustrate, I would cite an example of painting as career. Previously painting was hardly considered as a profession and generally it was pursued as avocation. But presently, we can see a surge of such career options and this proves that people were being misled by the notions of the society all these years and have finally started following their passion.

Nevertheless, educational institutes should focus on economic well-being of the youth of our society as well. And from this perspective, institutes would be right if they dissuade students from pursuing subjects which do not lead to so-called fame, success or money. However, I still feel it should be left to the students to decide what they are really enthusiastic about to learn and take up as a career.