To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

Every society is variegated and characterized by it's own individuality. While it is generally thought that one must have knowledge regarding major cities in order to understand the nuances of one's society, there are some who believe that it is not necessary to do so. However, I firmly support the former opinion and feel that it is essential to have an understanding of various major cities so as to realize the unique inherent qualities of our society.

Admittedly, there are several countries in the world, which are ethnically and traditionally diverse within themselves. To illustrate this, I would give cite an example of my birthplace, which is India. India is a diverse country with various ethnic and religious groups residing peacefully. It is a land of multifarious rich culture and traditions. It is impossible for one to to get an idea of our society unless we make an effort to understand the contributing factors, traditions being one of them.

Another point to consider is that a society is stratified in most of the countries. The classification could be based on economical or political basis as well. For instance, every county has both affluent population and middle class population. The differences in their lifestyle, economic conditions contribute enormously to the formation of a society.

Furthermore, there is opinion of people, which varies from a society to another. For example, if a particular society believes in egalitarian form of society, other might not believe or support the idea. Hence, the perspective of people regarding a situation varies widely from a city to another. The nuances of society might be attributed to this factor greatly.

Nevertheless, it might occur to a specific section of entire population that it is extraneous to study major cities to understand the society. This might be true if according to one, a society is one which he lives in and not the one existing in entire country or world. It might make sense, if one is way too egotistical to even consider the existence of various other societies and cities.

In conclusion, I feel studying major cities from various angle could prove to be significantly important in understanding our own society and others as well. Thus, it is worth spending some time to study the major cities.