"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Leadership is one of the significant aspects which determine the fate of various arena in our society. Ranging from government, industry to a sports team, success is largely determined by the leadership factor. Thus, it has become increasingly important for us to make our youth realise how leadership is nontrivial and ineluctable for an enterprise or a government in order to function and flourish. It is generally thought that instilling a sense of cooperation rather than competition in young people is an effective way to prepare our youth to play the roles of our future leaders. I do agree with this perspective because it is cooperation which aims at overall improvement rather than satisfying individual needs.

Cooperation involves working together while bringing the best out of each other. This helps a lot because as humans we are not blessed with every kind of talent or quality. When we cooperate and work in a team, the team comprises of all the unique qualities possessed by each of the members. While competiting, we concentrate on ourselves. Even though people can train themselves in multifarious fields, one can never be expert or strong in every field of action. To ilustrate, I would give an example of a theatre group. Acting involves sundry facets. To be a part of theatre group, one might require to act, sing , dance or recite. If a group is formed with five people possessing unique talents, they would sure have an edge over an individual competitor. Thus, incultaing a sense of cooperation in youth can have several advatnages.

Admittedly, ideas generally do originate from an individual. But, if we really try to implement it on a larger scale, we would require cooperation from our friends, family or colleagues. For example, Mukesh Ambani probably had the idea of introducing such a low-priced JIO telecom company, but it is his associates, company marketing and employees who made it possible for it to make it really big in the market. Hence, cooperation is required for leadership. Competition alone cannot really take us far.

Nevertheless, competition is not a bad thing at all. In such a competitive world, one needs to prove his or her mettle in order to do better than his or her competitiors. And, if one fails to do so, they lag behind in the run for success. Also, while working in groups we coem across officious individuals, who try to pull us down instead of encouraging us. In such cases, competing individually obviously would seem tobe a better option.

In conclusion, despite of few negative aspect of cooperation, it still proves to be a better quality to be inculcated in our youth. Teaching cooperation sure has an upper hand over competition if we are really looking forward to make our youth realize the importance of leadership.