Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments are generally frugal when it comes to deciding their budget for each arena contributing to the well-being of our society. And, it is extremely important for them to make a wise acumen. According to some, investments by the government in arts should be as much as that of the military. However, I do not agree to this and I feel that military deserves more investments.

Admittedly, the military has various significant roles to play. From protecting our borders, fighting our enemy countries, taking care of our security to sacrificing their own life, the military does it all. The roles and responsibilities of army and the officials are indeed important and each of their functions depend a lot on our country's resources. The weapons, missiles, bombs are extremely expensive especially when they are of superior quality. Hence, all these expenses must be met by government investments.

Another point to consider is the technological advancements in our society. Technology and gadgets are another facet, which contributes immensely to the military action and planning. In present situation, The enemy countries are using plethora of technical ways to get into our country in order to obtain secret information. Hence, our country must not lag behind as well. This again proves that military needs enormous government funds to function effectively and efficiently.

Nevertheless, arts is also important for our society. It encourages talents all over the country and makes our country recognized on global level. Without arts in our country, we would be culturally deprived. And, government must make enough contribution to this field as well. However, I feel arts is something, which we can enjoy or pursue only when we are safe and secure. And, military is the one who ensures that fact.

In conclusion, military and arts both have their own niche. They are important for a country and society to sustain but military always have an edge over arts since safety and security of our country is of utmost importance. It is only when we have peaceful, safe, secure life, we can enjoy or make the most of other worldly pleasures.