Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.Write a response in which you

There are multifarious facets to arts and artifacts. And, financial factor is one of the many determinants which decide the fate of the arts. Thus, it is generally thought government funding is ineluctable if we wish arts to flourish and be accessible to others. However there are some, who believe that financial resource from government is rather threatening to the integrity of the arts. I support the former view because although funding leading to commercialization does threaten the inherent purpose of arts, government resources are still not extraneous.

Firstly, there are several artists who are experts in various different art forms. Even though they are passionate about their work, they do not receive as much recognition as they should have. This is exactly where government funding can play a major role. Funds can help the artists with the resources to export his work or exhibit his work at various nationally and internationally renowned exhibitions, thereby recognizing their art on a global and national basis. Arts is not only significant for our aesthetic pleasure but also for the enrichment of our society and culture.

Secondly, the materials required for arts could be expensive at times. While few materials are delicate and exquisite enough, some are extremely rare. To illustrate, I would cite an example of the sculptures. They require expensive rocks to work. In previous ages, materials were copious and people never realized their original worth. In the past 100 years of civilization, urbanization, people have become aware of the worth of such valuable materials and hence the prices went sky-high. This is clearly a deterrent for the skilled artisans. Government resources however can subsidize the prices for artists to encourage their skills and passion, which ultimately would lead the country gain an honorable appellation globally.

Nevertheless, government funding could be misused as well. As the debauchery increases in our society, most of the honest initiatives of the government are seen to be carelessly used or rather used for own benefits rather than benefiting the society. For instance, corrupt people who claim to be artists, could use the money disbursed by the government to satisfy his or her own personal benefits rather than following his or her passion and contributing to the society. Also, excess funds can lead to commercialization of arts, which would ruin the essence of real arts and promote the monetary success among the artists instead of encouraging them for a better aesthetic work.

In conclusion, even though there are few negative aspects of the government resources for arts, I feel the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Hence, government or the ruling party must encourage its own artists by providing every help they can. That would keep the skilled people motivated towards a progressive future .