A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled foo

The argument in question is too weak to be convincing. While the author claims that the company should stop investing in further research because the samples contained all the approved chemicals, there are basic flaws in his argument. There are few questions, which arise at this point, that can determine if the company should stop research at all.

Firstly, the author claims that the chemicals in the samples are approved for use in pet food. However, it is not mentioned whether the company actually tested the food on various pet animals before the approval of the food. Also, it is necessary to know the particular breed the research took into account during pre-approval stage.

Secondly, the argument calls the approving department in question. The reliability and the authenticity of the approving department is not mentioned anywhere. The concerned department might be involved in debauchery. In this scenario, the further research of the recalled food must continue and in fact must be tested in various laboratories in order to reach a conclusive report.

Thirdly, the argument does not mention of any allergic substance, which the recalled pet food might contain. Generally, if a food contains potential allergens, it is advised to the pet owners to check the ingredients before feeding it to their pets. In case, it contains allergens and it is not mentioned on the pet food, many pets who are specifically allergic to such substances, might fall ill.

Finally, the author does not mention any specified amount, in which it could be fed to pets. The company probably failed to mention the appropriate quantity and as a result the pet owners overfed their pets. In this case, the company should further their research to find out if there is any toxic effect of their product if it is consumed in excess.

The argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons. The argument could have been strengthened to a greater extent if the author included the answers to these questions. To be able to judge a situation, one needs to be aware of all the evidences pertaining to that situation. In this case, the argument lacks basic reasoning and thus remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.