"Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society."Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely alig

Although it is generally thought that nuances of morality should be the basic focus of education, according to some emphasis on logical reasoning in education would fetch us a better and morally inclined society. In my opinion, educating children about logical reasoning can benefit us as a society to a greater extent than just teaching them morality.

Moral lessons are important since it helps to shape a well rounded individual. It teaches us the difference between right and wrong. However, present situation is very different from past few centuries. And, the youngsters these days do not follow something just because it is taught to them. Hence, it would be tough if we just focus on morality without describing the logical reason behind those moral lessons.For example, morally we are never supposed to harm anyone despite being physically or mentally hurt by someone else. Children might find it rather uncanny to believe and might question our response. In this scenario, logical reasoning can come to rescue.

Logical reasoning,is necessary to judge a particular situation and act accordingly. It is the need of the hour. In present era, being logical is as important as being morally correct. Additionally, logically sound individuals, according to a recent statistics, are seen to be more ethical than their counterparts. Logic does not only make us differentiate between right and wrong but also it instills in the sense to decide logically and not just base our decisions on mere age-old moral lessons. For example, we ideally should help everyone who asks for help. But, should we really help people who are capable of doing their work and just being a malingerer? Although the morally correct response would be to help, logically we should never help such people and let them realize the value of hard work.

In conclusion, I feel morality can be incorporated in children in a more sustained and effective way if logical reasoning is also taken into account. We need a society which is not only morally correct but also realize the importance of taking a logical decision.