“Advertising with Cable Communications Corp. is a great way to increase your profits. Recently, the Adams Car Dealership began advertising with Cable Communications, and over the last 30 days, sales are up 15% over the previous month. Let us increase your profits, just as we did for Adams Cars!”

Write a response that examines this argument’s unstated assumptions. Make sure you explain how this argument depends on those assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions are wrong. (Use a separate sheet of paper or a computer to write your essay.)

The argument presented relies on the assumption that Adams Car Dealership increased profits because they advertised with Cable Communications Corp. and that any other company that advertises with them will also experience increase in profit. This argument is not particularly valid with basis on this assumption.

First of all, no two companies are the same. The fact that it worked for one company does not mean it will work for another. One of the reasons is that demand for certain things differ by season and base on other factors which may include a trend or style of living. One thing that might have caused the increase in profit of Adams Car Dealership is the location and setting. For a state like Maryland where most individuals have cars and those that do not have, need it, car dealership will be in demand. But for a state like New York that is crowded and experience heavy traffic, cars will not be in demand. Another scenario will be the demand for Christmas trees which solely depends on season. Advertising in any other season is not going to make any sense. Demand for clothes also base on season and the current trend.

Furthermore, the time of advertising was not stated which can be a major factor of consideration. Questions that are supposed to be asked are; the market target of the company and when can the market target be reached out to? If it is corporate bodies, that would mean advertising during the day would be a waste of time because that is when they would be at their workplaces carrying out duties. If it is parents and kids for instance, advertising stationaries and toys, it should be done after school closes. That way children would be at home watching television, so that will mean not only do the market target matter but the time of the advertisement matters as well.

Also, the cost of advertising was not stated. Perhaps Adams Car Dealership was able to afford because of the nature of the business, but that does not mean it could be afforded by say a company that sells low cost foot-wears. If the cost of the advertising is unbearable, the profit that would even be made will not cause any substantial change considering the dept that would have to be paid.

The argument when viewed superficially seem logical but does not vividly state out the important factors that should be considered. Assuming every company is the same is a flaw and not pointing out how the advertisement would be done, how much it would cost, and how the time scheduling for the advertisement would be also make the evidence incomplete and unconvincing.