The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument above, the author talks about children in Tertia and how they are brought up. The assumptions made are that the observation made by Dr. Field was invalid due to how children talked about their parents in an interview conducted by the author in a present time. The argument seems cogent at first glance but there are more evidences when added to the argument will make it reasonable and lucid.

To begin with, more information about how the research was carried in both scenarios make the argument clear. The interview-centered research method was not expantiated. How the interview was carried out, the number of children that were interviewed, the kind of questions they were asked etc. The number of children that were interviewed could have been too small to be a representative of the entire village. The kind of questions asked could have led the children to talk about their parents.

To add to the above, it was stated that the interview was not carried out on only children from Tertia but a group of children that included children from Tertia. If the percentage of children from Tertia is made clear in comparison to the other children, the argument will make more sense. The bottom line is that the conclusion made from the second research was not exclusive to children from Tersia.

Also, the length of time between Dr. Field’s research and the authors research could have led to the great disparity. The fact that a particular group of people behave in a certain way does not give assurance that in twenty years time they would behave in the same way. Delving deeper and asking the old folks about how different children are brought up in Tertia in the present time will offer some form of evidence to back the research.

Additionally, the author states that a team of graduate students will carry out another research to back his claim. The way the research is going to be carried out had to be stated and making sure to go by it in an objective way will make argument stronger.

The argument will be made stronger than it is if evidence of how the interview research was carried out was given and how the new research by the graduate students will be carried out. Another evidence to make it clear will be to provide the sample size of the children that were interviewed and a better bases for judging the first research to be invalid.