An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The argument states that the scent of lavender flowers helps cure insomnia. However, the argument makes such assumptions that are not entirely logically convincing.

First, The argument is concluded based on just one experiment on 30 volunteers. the argument disregards the fact that those 30 volunteers are very sensitive to sleep hygiene and have changed their sleeping environment abruptly. Observation of first week concludes that they slept soundly but woke up tired, the author doesn’t provide the information what was the cause of tiredness, Maybe the bed wasn’t comfortable enough that made the sleepers tired when they woke up? The total hours of sleep is also not mentioned, because excessive hours of sleeping can cause the tiredness in the individuals.

Second, the observation of second week states that the volunteers’ medication was discontinued and they weren’t able to sleep properly. Sleeping pills are addictive and their precipitated withdrawals can cause adverse effects. There is no mention in the experiment that the restlessness was not caused by the sudden withdrawal of the medication which would’ve taken doubts away from the medication. And if the lavender scent was effective it should have been started working by now.

Thirdly, by the third week the volunteers are observed sleeping peacefully and longer, here the authors haven’t mentioned how much longer did the volunteers sleep? As the sleeping period wasn’t even mention before so we have no clue if they are getting enough sleep for their bodies to feel less tired the next day.

Ultimately, there are many flaws in the conducted experiment, there is some more information that the author is required to add in order to strengthen his conclusion. If author provides the sleeping period of the volunteers or states more experimental studies like the one he has provided, it can strengthen his conclusion that scent of lavender flowers cures insomnia.