Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively

“The important thing is not to stop questioning” – Albert Einstein

Education is the basic tool that has caused the evolution of the mankind. We think because we question. Man is a curious creature. From the moment we’re born we start observing the things around us, we see the sky and stars, the turning of day and night, this leads us often to a one-word question: Why? Why does the seasons change? Why does the moon always change its phases? Why does it rain? Questions lead to innovation. One key aspect of education is the ability to reason out why something is happening without accepting the fact that it is just happening. To ask is to learn. Students asking questions in a class is very important way of learning.

For example, in a class if the teacher states that Earth revolving around its axis results in day and night. If the students just accept this fact passively they would not be able to learn the reason behind it. If they question this statement for further elucidation, they will come to know that the day happens when the earth is facing the sun and night happens when its facing away for the sun. thus, if we never question anything we will never be able to get to know the reason behind the occurrence of things.

Questioning stimulates our brain, it urges us to think and unlocks a whole new world of ideas in our head. For instance, if Newton hadn’t questioned that why did the apple fall from tree to the ground, he never would’ve been able to discover the Gravitational force, which was a major discovery of that time.

In another instance, earlier everyone believed that the earth was flat and this fact was taught in schools until one day Galileo questioned this theory, which led for him to refute this fact that one had thought about otherwise.

At times our understanding of a fact might be completely wrong and the conclusion we derive from this fact would also be obviously wrong. So it is very important; when students are taught in class, to make sure that they are understanding the concepts clearly by posing questions.

Although, questioning may sometimes irk the teacher but there is no harm in asking “why”. Learning for students in current world has become very easy, if a teacher is unable to find answer to the question, there are many other pedagogies. One can search the web or pay a visit to the library nearby. But the most important thing is to not stop questioning as it stimulates are mind and leads us to innovation.