"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument roughly states that because of the increased amount of time devoted to the national news the television station has been getting complaints and the local businesses have stopped advertising. While at first the provided argument may seem cogent and sound. But looking deeper, it is determined that the argument is deeply flawed and there are several holes that has rendered the argument to seem illogical.

First, the author states that their late night program devotes more time to national new and less to weather and local news. here, the author does not mention any other program but only one specific, it may be possible that all other programs might be solely based on the weather and the local news respectively and this one specific late night program only focuses on the national news.

Secondly, the author assumes that during this time, most complaints received are concerned with the coverages of weather and local news. It is likely that those complains about weather and local news are about the quality of the coverage or about some false information the station might have provided. The author also has not mentioned the other complaints. it might be possible that those complaints are about an even bigger issue than the weather and the local news.

Thirdly, the author assumes that because of less coverage of the weather and the local news many local businesses have ended their advertising contracts. There might be a possibility that those local businesses have found a better station where they can advertise at less price. The author concludes that these problems will be eradicated if they start devoting more time to weather and local news, which is not very convincing given the author's reasons.

Conclusively, If the author had mentioned with a proof that there is no other reason for the complaints or the local businesses ending their contract, the given argument would have been strengthened.