The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

The recommendation that Batavia government should regulate the increased milk prices, at first might seem very convincing, but as we continue to observe the aspects of the given reasons, the recommendation seems to need some necessary evidences to be logically sound.

First, the author states that a report from the agriculture department states the number of dairy farms has increased by 25% over the span of 10 years. The increasing number of dairy farms does not necessarily proves that the production of milk has also increased. It might be possible that the new dairy farms don’t have enough cows to produce milk as the old ones. Also, maybe the cows at the new dairy farms are too young to produce milk. If the author had provided some estimated milk production, that would have made his recommendation clearer and convincing.

Secondly, the author states that the milk price at local market has increased significantly. Here the author has mentioned only one local store. There is no statement that the price has increased at other local stores as well. A survey proving that milk prices have increased at all the local stores is also not given, As It may be possible that the particular local market has increased the price to profit itself. No proof of investigation has been provided regarding this possibility.

Thirdly, the author assumes that the profit is going to the farmers. No support is provided for this assumption. There may be a chance that the suppliers are the ones gaining profit from the increased amount at the market. The dairy farms might be located far from the market. Also, it can be possible that the packaging companies are getting the significant amount out of the total cost. the milk cartons or bottles might cost more than the milk itself, causing the increase in prices.

Conclusively, if the author provided a survey report from different local stores, or stated a proof of investigation held at local Excello food market that they did not sell milk at high rate. these crucial evidences would have bolster the author’s recommendation.