An ancient, traditional treatment to help reduce obesity-coconut oil- has recently been proven effective. In a study completed last year, 50 volunteers were fed a special diet rich in coconut oil for two weeks. No volunteer was allowed to eat outside food during the trial, and each volunteer had his or weight measured several times each day. After 2 weeks, the volunteers had lost an average of 8 pounds each. Therefore, the study proves that coconut oil reduces obesity within a short period of time.

The author of the argument contends that an ancient method helps to cure obesity in people. The author supports his claim by basis of survey in which handful of people were chosen and after two weeks, people lost an average of about eight pounds each. However, the author’s reasoning seems flawed as the author has not provided sufficient evidence and is filled with numerous underlying assumptions which provoke a sense of doubt.

Firstly, the author has assumed only fifty people in the survey. The author implies that what holds true for fifty people will hold true for vast majority of the population of the world. The sample is too small to rely upon. Had the sample be in millions or so, one would might consider it more trustworthy.

Secondly, the author has assumed that the people are alike. That is they belong to the same race and ethnicity and carry out similar day to day jobs. What might hold true for a particular group of people might not hold true for other group. For instance, reduction in obesity by consumption of coconut oil might lead to positive results for Asians whereas for, let’s say, people of American origin it might hold some different result. Moreover, there is a great plausibility that the effect might vary for people even who belong to same ethnicity and race. No evidence or enclosures or patient details are given.

Thirdly, the reduction in weight of eight pounds on an average could be misleading. As we all know that average is representation of sample. In this scenario, sample is the set of fifty people chosen on whom coconut oil experiment is conducted. In the sample of population mentioned by the author, chances are that some of might have decreased their weight by eight pounds or so while some of them might even have gained weight by eight pounds or so while to some it might have been ineffective. Not just an absolute number, but could be any number, say, one, two, three, five or nine.

Fourthly, the argument is only recently proven. This means it might still be under consideration and is open to debate and criticism and the results proven by the test might be debunked in the distant future. Had it been proven eons ago, one might consider it valid and genuine.

Lastly, but not the least, the author has assumed that all of them liked the diet and the diet was similar for everyone. As human beings, we all know that every person’s body is different and responds differently to different measures. For instance, a corpulent man needs to work out in gym more to attain desired weight compared to the man who is relatively slim. Taking that into account, there is huge chance that the uniform diet might not have after all be proven effective in the same sense for all than desired.

By the virtue of above assumptions and their postulated consequences, it is clear that there needs to be more evidences and thorough details on the survey presented to consider it to be reliable.